Saturday, November 20, 2010

Graceland / Memphis









Hi there. Im off and running with this posting thing. You better watch out I may hit 6 for one month. That'll be some sort of record. So I left my family in Ringgold, GA and headed towards Memphis. I wanted to check out where The King lived and where King was killed. Two Kings of Memphis. Graceland being the former and The Lorraine Motel , the latter. I was not too happy with the cost of the Graceland, about 27 $. Only because I was a veteran, otherwise it would've been like 32. I mean what the hell was I gonna see worth that much? If his last bomb was still floating in the can , or maybe if there was some blood or vomit on the floor, OK OK gross, I know. I will say this though, that man brings in some money and must keep about 100 to 200 people employed. People from every state were in that parking lot. I video recorded it, and many crazy foreigners as well. I wasnt too impressed by the size of his house but I was impressed by the size of the land and its location. He was a pretty regular guy Im assuming but he must've had a real ego to keep all his awards and records in their own room. Hey if only I had one award right. I enjoyed it. I took pictures, check em out, and headed downtown about 13 miles away. I got to the Lorraine Motel and was surprised to see it had become a civil rights museum. I didnt go in but I did sit outside it for awhile. I was in awe. In those pictures it looked so big but it was very small. MLK was shot here for those of you who are wondering what the hell am yammering on about. There was a wreath near his door and old replica 60's cars out front. It was a weird moment. I guess I was a fan of MLK or I am a fan but I wasnt really around to be vocal about it. Im not sure I wouldve had the balls to hang out with him and support him if I were around. He was a pretty crazy guy. Going around asking for change from people who were not having it... seriously though, he went through some tough shit and to be blown away like that well, I guess death isnt pretty but he stood up for something. Im sure when he was dying he was thinking man I hope I dont die but I suppose the ol man upstairs thought he did plenty enough. I'm Ashamed that sownbitch that shot him had my name. I mean honestly the other guy went out on the shitter and people were lined up for miles to see him. This guy died for millions of people and I was 1 of 3 people hanging out the other two bums were asking for change. I just pointed at the wreath, there's your change buddy... blowing in the wind.You tell me about Americas priorities. Life is odd. Maybe he should've worn a gold lema suit. Ha Ha, can you see him? Free at last, Free at Last, uh thank you very much. We are free at last. A whomp baba loobamp  balop bam boom. Heres some pics and a Video.

No comments:

Post a Comment